Cornish Pets

olayak

Songster
7 Years
Jul 26, 2012
New York
Hi,

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
We adopted four Cornish X chicks that were in a local animal shelter and we may soon be adopting a 5th. Our chicks are now about 4 weeks old and we adopted them two weeks ago! We have other pet birds but these are our first chickens! A lot of fun and a lot to learn!
(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
Four, soon may be adding a 5th chick!
(3) What breeds do you have?
Cornish Cross! They are adorable and sweet and, yes, I know they are usually meat chickens but we don't eat meat so these are our pets.
(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
Internet searching like crazy because I knew very little about chickens!
(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
I am a doctoral student of social welfare and adjunct instructor of social work, I primarily study and lecture about the human-animal bond!
(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
We have four dogs, 5 inside cats, 2 feral, outdoor, cats that adopted us, 4 pet pigeons and 2 potbellied pigs. And my patient and kind husband.
I'm also a pediatric trauma social worker and my husband is an artist. One of our dogs is obsessed with the chickens and he just wants to take care of them all the time. It's too cute! He's not a livestock guarding breed, but I guess he decided to be a LGD! :)
(7) Bonus: How did you find BYC, how long have you known about BYC, and what made you finally join our awesome community? :D
I'm already addicted to having chicken companions! They are only 4 weeks old but already I am having so much fun with them! They're awesome!

Be very careful feeding those chickens. Cornish X can easily put on so much weight that they hurt themselves, they're bred to bulk up unhealthily fast.