CORNISH ROCK-Family pet?

DavesMommy

Hatching
5 Years
Mar 1, 2014
I just joined this site tonight and im very glad I did. I have a about a week old ( just his wings are feathered) Cornish rock chick. s/he was bought for a pet and not food or to lay eggs. I have never had any sort of chickens before so im very new to this. My question is is there any way I can keep this baby healthy as a pet? I children are getting attached very fast to "Dave" (from the movie Hop :) The Manager at tractor supply told me they make great pets and they life long happy lives but as ive read its not true. Any suggestions? Thanks!!

Cornish Cross were bred to put on a lot of weight in a short time. 8 weeks is really the lifespan of a bird in a commercial situation. They are one of the best, and most common meat breeds available. Unfortunately, they are prone to health problems such as arthritis from the sheer weight of their large breasts, and heart failure. However, I've heard of people keeping them for a while, while they monitor and control how much they eat.

welcome-byc.gif

I'm sorry the TSC guy set your family up for this--that really sucks.

It is possible to keep Cornish alive past the common slaughter date of 8 weeks, but it takes good management. You need to limit food and get the bird to exercise as much as you can. Free range time in the yard is great. CX are very friendly little guys, I will say that. Is it your only chick? If so, you should consider getting at least one more, as they really like being with their own kind.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...-your-cornish-x-meaties-tractors-do-not-count is meant for meat birds, but does show a way to raise them. Again, it is a meat bird thread in general.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/331273/cornishx-as-a-pet post 18 by Kuntrygirl shows a success story.

You can use the advanced search function to look for more examples.