CornXDeleware?

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by rbar, Aug 7, 2009.

1. rbar

rbar In the Brooder

Jan 17, 2009
    Dayton, Tennessee
    THAT's DelAware, of course...!

OK, I have set aside some Del Hens and have a Cornish X rooster trimmed down enough to be able to breed, and as of yesterday, seems to have figured it out...
    Wehen the hens are laying better I plan to see what they produce, meat-wise.
    Anyone have reasonable success with this? I've read all the CornDel stories, I'd like to talk with someone who has some experience with it.
    Second Generation...recommendations?

RBar

Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  2. JoAnn_WI_4-H_Mom

JoAnn_WI_4-H_Mom Songster

Jun 17, 2009
    West Central WI
    I have no experience, but am subscribing because it should be interesting. Please keep us informed as your project progresses. It would be lovely to have a true-breeding broiler breed that has fewer of the CornX probllems (but all the meatiness) and more of the Delaware virtues.

3. nicalandia

nicalandia Crowing

Jul 16, 2009
    Quote:
    I am glad you are doing that...PLEASE keep a scientific record of all and all you see, chicks color, hatch weight, daily gains, FCR ALL..as I am doing something similar but with Production type RIR(leaner than delawares, but more prolific layers), I will keep scientific records and keep you guys posted....

second Generation??? I would not recomend a F1XF1 cross or a F1x parent cross, WHY? well because you will be loosing, first: any chance of heterosis, and second the hens will not be as productive(egg production, feed cost)....thats why I am doing the CornishX cross and not using the much larger CornishX hens, they will drive cost up in every other way....but any ways if you do it keep records too...[​IMG]

4. Kelso

Kelso Songster

Aug 6, 2009
    very interesting, keep us posted and do you have any pics of the breeding stock.

5. nicalandia

nicalandia Crowing

Jul 16, 2009