cream legbar crosses.. what to expect when crossing a cream legbar ro

cluckykate114

In the Brooder
Mar 6, 2023
Hey there! first time “breeding” chickens.
i have:
buff orpington hen
buff brahma
black bantam
mottled bantam
and a
cream legbar roo

what should i expect with these crosses ?

and what would i get crossing a cream legbar roo to a green laying easter egger? or an EE roo to my buff brahma (she lays eggs on the darker side but not like marans)

Hi there. I have zero experience breeding, but a healthy enough curiosity that I have read some of the breeding threads, and I used to be a wildlife biologist, so I have a decent understanding of genetics.

If I understand correctly, Crossing a legbar to a brown layer should result in some kind of olive or green egg because legbars always lay blue. Whereas adding an EE to the mix will always be a surprise. EE's are hybrids, so one who lays green has genes for both blue and brown being expressed. However there is no guarantee which ones she will pass on. An there is no way of knowing at all which sort of egg color genes the EE roo carries.

So mix it up and see what you get!

Cream Legbar X Buff Orpington: All offspring barred, the pattern would likely be buff columbian pattern.
Cream Legbar X Buff Brahma: Another barred, gold columbian.
Cream Legbar X Black Bantam: Black barred, likely with gold or silver leakage.
Cream Legbar X Mottled Bantam: I'm assuming that this is a black mottled hen, so all offspring black with barring and likely some leakage. All of the chicks would be carrying mottling, but it wouldn't show.

Crossing the Cream Legbar to a green layer would likely result in chicks that lay either green or blue eggs. Like @becstalls mentioned, the egg color of the Easter Egger's offspring would depend on the color genes he carries. It could be anything from all green to all brown, or a mix of the two.