Criticize My Coop!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Roach, Feb 27, 2013.

1. Roach

Roach Out Of The Brooder

Feb 27, 2013
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Hey there everyone, just working on my coop design that I'll be building next month.

It's based off of using two solid core doors as the upper coop panels, one side will open for egg access, and the other will open with wire underneath for summer ventilation.

I've included measurements so people can see how large everything is going to be, and if it will appropriately fit 6 chickens.

[​IMG]

I've yet to add roosting bars or a droppings try to the coop section.

I'm in a urban setting, so it needs to be dog secure, and keep the egg song fairly muffled.

Feel free to point out issues, improvements, good design elements. All is welcome.

I've read many threads on BYC as well as the fantastic book, A Chicken in Every Yard, so I'm decently versed in chicken raising, but this is my first time!

2. 1muttsfan

1muttsfan Overrun With Chickens

Mar 26, 2011
    Upper Peninsula Michigan
    Nicely drawn! The only thing I would suggest is to have fewer birds. While some sources cite as little as 2 square feet of coop per bird, they are much better off with 4 square feet of coop and 10 square feet of run per adult standard fowl. Remember that in incliment weather they may be inside and too crowded if you were to have 6 birds. You could probably have up to 5 without issue if you were to change to exterior nest boxes.

3. OCpeep

OCpeep Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2012
    Orange County, CA
    You'll need vents at the top of the coop. They should be left open year around. Maybe cut out the top of the peak on either side and put hardware cloth over it for security.

4. Chicken Fruit

Chicken Fruit Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 25, 2009
    Echo Homestead