1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Critique my coop design

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by QuackyMomma, Mar 4, 2013.

1. QuackyMomma

QuackyMomma Out Of The Brooder

Feb 6, 2013
    I'm new to the world of ducks and chickens. I bought 2 chickens (isa brown) and a pekin duckling a couple of weeks ago. They're growing and I now moved them outside, where I placed a coop and built them a run. The coop was purchased from ebay and was really really cheap... which is proving to be an issue. The run is built from plastic stakes and some plastic wire and does the job rather well.
    So my next hobby project is to build a perfect coop for both the duck and the chickens. It has to to be capable of providing suitable housing conditions for 2 chickens and 2 ducks (the duck is possibly getting a buddy... but don't tell my husband :)
    Some of the problems with the current coop:
    • not enough space for my flock when they are fully grown
    • when it rains/is very humid, the structure expands and it's hard to open doors
    • not enough space for feeder and waterer - I want to suspend these off the ground and within the coop to deter other animals
    • no nest boxes
    • ladder too the coop seems a bit challenging for the duckling, too steep
    • not enough shade