1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Day 11 how do I decide which ones stay and who to toss

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by beverlyl, Oct 13, 2009.

1. beverlyl

beverlyl Out Of The Brooder

Aug 28, 2009
    Morristown Arizona
    I candled and could defanitaly(sp?) see veins in some and others I could not see through at all. I don't want any to explode and make a mess, so I need help in determining if they stay or go? I also noticed that I have 2 eggs thay have a few cracks like they were dropped when laid(don't know how they made it in the incubator without me noticing) and I know for sure that one of them has veins and movement so do I toss it or try my luck? Thanks

2. srsmith69

srsmith69 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2009
    Oklahoma
    I'm new to this, so hopefully someone else with more experience will come along.

For the cracked eggs, 10 days is a long time for bacteria to set in. Could result in a big mess to clean up. However, I have a 7 day old pigeon squab whose egg got stepped on and cracked about 3 days before it was supposed to hatch. It seems to be doing great.

3. justmeandtheflock

justmeandtheflock Overrun with ducklings :)

May 27, 2009
    NW NJ
    I am far from an expert but the only ones I tossed this batch were clearly duds. The light went right through and all I could see was the yolk and the air sack. I did pick up an 89 Lumes head lamp from WM so that I could get a better look because these are brown eggs. It is awesome!!! With my 1st batch of light cream colored silkie eggs and a not so good light I could tell that the clear ones were clear and I could also see a blood ring in other ones. I opened them all and I was right. Here is a site that helped me: