Day 24 duck incubation questions

kenzie7775

In the Brooder
Mar 10, 2017
Hi!

I have been Incubating duck eggs in my home made incubator for 24 full days now. I'm doing this for my high school senior project, and so I'm very new to it all. I started out with 9 eggs... 6 Pekin and 3 Muscovy's, I had some high temperature problems in the first few days of incubation. But I am left with 5 Eggs (2 pekin 3 muscovy) that seem to be Extremely healthy!! Ive been candling them and they all seem to be on track!

Tomorrow is supposed to be the last day of flipping the 2 pekins, and they are supposed to be put into lockdown with high humidity... But I will be opening the incubator to flip the Muscovy eggs.

How will the pekins do with me opening the Incubator 3 times a day? And how will the Muscovy's do with the high humidity?? What should I do??

Currently I flip them all 3 times a day, spray them each time also... I've been keeping the humidity around 40, and temp 99.5 as much as I can.

I think I'm just super nervous because its so close to hatching, and this is all new for me, but I just want my babies to be happy and healthy!
Thank you so much!

Bruising is "usually" an indication that the duckling has broken the inner membrane, but not through the shell, and moisture has gotten between the two membranes. Especially if its in an area beyond the air cell. Many times, those need assistance. Can you get a picture of the bruise?

Normal guidelines say that they should be able to survive on the air cell air for around 24 hours, then do their external pip. But of course, that must depend on the size of the air cell, right? So if the air cells are large, a few more hours probably isn't hazardous to wait. If the air cells were small, then you may consider helping with a safe hole.

Hi!