Day 8 (The First Candling) Some disappointment, and some excitement!

TheMallardMan

Chirping
5 Years
Sep 29, 2014
North Carolina, US
Today, I candled my Mallard Eggs for the first time. It is day 8 of their incubation. Now I am no expert on this, so if I anything is wrong, or you have any tips or comments, please post them below and enjoy the photos
tongue.png
Sorry if it's hard to see the development, I used a cell phone light for the candling (the camera flash light) so it may be too bright.

Egg # 1

This one was obviously infertile, You could see a yolk, but no progress of any kind, it was like candling a grocery store egg.

Egg # 2

This one had multiple veins, and was a dark orange-ish color, with about half of it being taken up by the fetus. I got so excited!
wee.gif

Egg # 3

This one was also very fertile, with many veins. You could tell something was growing.

Egg # 4

Same as 2 & 3, many veins and a good sized fetus growing inside.

Egg # 5

Same as 2, 3, and 4.

Egg # 6

This one is harder to see, but it had the same developments of 2-5

Egg # 7

This one lite up like a light bulb, I knew instantly the little bugger didn't make it.
hit.gif

Come to think of it, I don't remember even seeing a yolk!
So all in all, about a 71% fertility rate within the first week. I am leaving the two infertile eggs in there until the next candling though (one week from today) just in case.

I currently had the temps at 99.5 and humidity is being kept between 40%-50%, and they are in an automatic egg turner, and I am rotating them 90 degrees each day, because the turner only moves them back and forth on one side.

Do I need to change anything, or should I keep up what i'm doing? And, its it common to lose more fetuses as the incubation process goes on? I'd be distraught if I lost one more, that'd be almost half gone.

Your temperature and amount of turning seems good for now. But, I would up the humidity to 50%-60%. Waterfowl eggs need plenty of humidity.