death during zipping

bigbum1984

In the Brooder
6 Years
Feb 18, 2013
Kent, England
I am on day 21 of incubation, one of my chicks started pipping yesterday and by last night had zipped the whole shell. but this morning nothing had changed so I checked on her and she had died.

She had zipped all the shell but she was facing downwards towards the bottom of the incubator, this is my first time incubating so I got rather upset and feel disheartened,
any idea why she died?

I'm worried that the rest of them won't hatch or they will die too, please help

That’s a hard one. Sometimes you just lose one and there is no real explanation, but usually if they make it that far they hatch.

How well is the incubator ventilated? Do you have the plugs out? The eggs and chicks need fresh air to breathe, especially later in incubation and right at hatch. This is more likely to be a problem with a still air incubator. You don’t want a breeze over them but they need some air exchange.

Was this out of a regular sized egg or maybe a tiny pullet egg? I’ve hatched pullet eggs before and those small chicks are harder to keep alive. There is just not enough nutrition in those eggs for them to come out really big, strong, and robust.

Since it hatched pretty much on time I can’t think of much else. If it zipped, it’s not shrink-wrapped. Chicks can be really weak if the incubation temperatures are right on that low border but then it would be late.

Good luck with the rest of the hatch.

it is a home made incubator, but there are 7 holes in it, 1 of which is 1 1/2 inches long. It was out of a normal sized egg, the temp in the incubator is 99*f and the humidity is between 60 - 65% since lock down.

When I opened the shell she looked perfect and had absorbed most of the yolk and all of the blood, I feel like its my fault and should have helped earlier. I even cried
hit.gif
!!!