1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Debeaking-Why??

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by MicheleC, Nov 6, 2011.

1. MicheleC

MicheleC Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2011
    Lake Charles
    Ok, I'm fairly new to chicken raising. I recently bought a speckled Sussex hen at an auction that was debeaked. I was told that she needs to be fed in a trough because they have a hard time eating off the ground. What is the purpose of this? It's seems a little harsh to me. I called her kisses because she looks like she's puckered up. Any suggestions appreciated.

2. Dar

Dar Overrun With Chickens

Jul 31, 2008
    they do this because the hens were kept in a crowded cage (IMHO) and the de-beaking stops pecking

you will find this with ready to lay pullets

I refuse to buy these at auction or from a breeder because I think its totally unnecessary

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Quote:Agreed

[​IMG]

4. MicheleC

MicheleC Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2011
    Lake Charles
    I think it's awful, but I felt so sorry for her I couldn't help myself. Is there anything I can do to make feeding easier for her? Thank You for the info!

5. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens

Like was suggested, make sure feed is plenty deep (at least 2" should be fine), fed in something like a bowl rather than the more shallow feeders...and I would think elevated to back height. She'll have to kind of spoon her food in rather than pick pieces up. It's similar to how cross beaks would be fed. And just keep an eye on her to make sure she is able to eat well... Water should be deeper too, and elevated.

6. ChickenPeep

ChickenPeep Faith & Feathers

May 1, 2011
    Olathe, Kansas
    Could you post pics of the pretty girl?