Dinner for one?

4theloveofhens

Songster
9 Years
May 26, 2010
Hey Everyone

Due to a recent split up of me and my boyfriend of 2 1/2 years and his moving out, I now find myself for the first time and now for a consistent amount of time (besides the occasionally "brinner" [breakfast for dinner] I would make myself) only making dinner for one --- myself. I made my first meal for myself the other night (chicken fried rice) that could do about 10 servings for me. Had to throw it out before I went out of town for the holidays.

What are some good ideas for dinner for one? I don't have any food allergies but I am on a limited budget since I am a college student now living by myself. Also, I don't do all that prepackaged crap "just add water". I like to make things from scratch!

Also, no seafood.

smile.png

Thanks for any ideas. Not sure what I'll be eating tonight.

If it weren't for my four girls (pullets) and my son (cocker spaniel), I'd be.....

One of my favorite dishes when living alone was to get some of those chicken sausages that most meat departments carry now. They freeze well, also. I would take one sausage, slice it and saute it with onion, then add cooked pasta (whatever shape I happened to have) and throw in a handful of fresh spinach or chopped broccoli. It's versatile, you make it fresh whenever you need it and you can cook the pasta ahead of time and just use a meal's worth at a time. Doesn't need any sauce, because of the veggies, but you can put a marinara sauce over it if you want.

Quote: