Do i have a Roo?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by sirsam28, Dec 4, 2014.

1. sirsam28

sirsam28 New Egg

Dec 4, 2014
    Hi everyone, this is my first post. I have used the forums for a wealth of information about my new flock.

I currently have 4 astralorps. They have been fantastic, gentle, and friendly.

I fear though that i might have a roo in my hands. I bought the pullets from Royal King and was told they are 95% certain they were all pullets.

I bought them back on Oct 18th. So they are now, 6 1/2 weeks old now. As im rather new to chickens, i have 1 pullet that is different than the others. Their tail feathers is almost straight up as the other 3 are sloped downwards. Im not sure if its just because she/he is more developed or that its a Roo.

Here is a few pictures of him/her:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    I'm thinking cockerel, since that comb is rather large/red for a six week old pullet.

3. sirsam28

sirsam28 New Egg

Dec 4, 2014
    Im fearing that as well.

My area doesnt allow Roo's, so im going to have to figure out what im going to do.

Additionally, i will be down one hen which im not sure how to incorporate new pullets to the trio.

Here is some comparison pictures with the other ladies:

[​IMG] <- the one to the right in the back is the one in question

[​IMG] < - The one in the middle of the picture is the one in question

[​IMG] <- The one in the back is the one in question.

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    I'm also leaning towards cockerel.

5. Oscarsgravett

Oscarsgravett Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2014
    East Sussex , England
    Welcome to byc !!! :welcome