Do I need more chickens?

MaAker

In the Brooder
May 4, 2022
Hello, I am new to the chicken world and super excited to be a chicken owner. I got 4 baby chicks a month ago. I live in northern MN (gets very cold). I am in a somewhat rural area on a lake. My question; should I get 2 more chickens? My friend said that chances are I will loose a few to predators. I want to let them free range during the day. I planned to add a couple next year - but wanted to see how this year went first. Side note; it took me 10 years to convince my hubby (who loves his lawn) to get them, lol - I don't want to push my luck. Also, if I get a couple more chciks - will this be a problem for my 5 weeks old chicks or do they adapt well at this age? Thank you!

I would strongly suggest going the route of giving them a secure coop and run. And if you bring them out into an open yard, make sure these events are supervised. Preventing a predator attack is better than planning for the loss, IMO.

Also, I wouldn't raise brand new chicks along side of 5 week olds, the little ones will get beat up pretty regularly and might not survive. Additionally, not many places will sell you just 2 chicks, most will have a 4 or 6 minimum.

With your current situation, I would probably let these 4 grow out and start laying and then re-evaluate from there if you want more chickens/more eggs.

I would strongly suggest going the route of giving them a secure coop and run. And if you bring them out into an open yard, make sure these events are supervised. Preventing a predator attack is better than planning for the loss, IMO.

Also, I wouldn't raise brand new chicks along side of 5 week olds, the little ones will get beat up pretty regularly and might not survive. Additionally, not many places will sell you just 2 chicks, most will have a 4 or 6 minimum.

With your current situation, I would probably let these 4 grow out and start laying and then re-evaluate from there if you want more chickens/more eggs.