Do roosters molt?

Sunny Side Up

Count your many blessings...
11 Years
Mar 12, 2008
Loxahatchee, Florida
Do roosters molt? I don't think so, or at least not in as dramatic a fashion as hens do. All of my hens have been, or currently are in varying stages of molt. They get awfully shaggy, then show patches of skin that looks like hedgehog pelt with all the new quills poking through. I even have one hen who is almost bald all over! She looks like a chicken the cat dreams about in the cartoons, a plucked chicken running about the yard.

But the roosters never lose that many feathers at once, and manage to stay sleek and smooth year 'round. Perhaps a few are molting near their faces & necks, but only a small patch. And the hens make a fuss over them, picking away the quill sheaths with tender pecks.

And I've been keeping chickens for several years now, but never have seen a rooster in full molt. Is this just something the layers do? If so, how is molting connected with egg laying?

mine are moulting too...all birds moult whether they are male or female I believe...not sure it correlates with egg laying...but it may. I think it is more seasonal...then fertility etc. Mine usually moult late in the fall...some partial some FULL being naked with pin feathers etc....it looks awful uncomfortable!
hmm.png

Last edited:
5261_chicken_bald.jpg

Sorry, I just couldn't resist finding this and posting it
gig.gif
!

He isn't molting, he was "genetically designed" not to have feathers.

I have seen low-on-the-pecking-order roos look just about that bad, tho'. I think that stress may have something to do with how they molt. Hormones must . . .

I have 1 hen that looks like a feather pillow explosion right now. She was busy trying to brood either an empty nest or infertile eggs when the other chickens were molting weeks ago. She finished her broodiness, laid a few eggs, then POOF!

Roosters are usually "too cool" to lose more than a few feathers at a time
cool.png

Steve

Last edited: