Do Rouen ducks feathers change color?

TonyaS

In the Brooder
Jul 11, 2017
Eustis, FL
Hi everyone! My family and I have slowly been starting a little farm with chickens, guinea's and ducks. We originally adopted 4 ducks when they were about 6 weeks old, they are a mix of Cayuga and Rouen. Two days after we brought them home a male (we assume) Rouen just showed up on our property. We put postings out to make sure he didn't just accidently get away from his own property but no one claimed him. He seemed to introduce himself to the ducklings and just made himself at home. A week later another duck showed up not far from our property, identical to the one we now had so we realized someone is dumping ducks where we live. The ducklings are now 14 weeks old and are pretty much the same size as the one that showed up. In the time he's been here his beautiful feathers have changed, he seems to be losing all those beautiful colors, even the white stripe around his neck. Since I'm new to having ducks can someone tell me if this is normal? Did we assume wrong that this is a male? Also, when should we be able to tell if the 4 ducklings are male or female? I have attached pictures of the Rouen when he first showed up and what he looks like now. You can also see the 4 ducklings in the background. Thanks for all your advice!!
Duck 1.jpg
Duck 2.jpg
Duck 3.jpg
Duck 4.jpg

Immature drakes and adult drakes after the breeding season have eclipse plumage - more female in nature. He will eventually molt back to his nuptial more colorful plumage. Your birds are in beautiful condition. They are old enough that you should be able to 'voice' sex them. Hens will have a loud quack whereas drakes will have a raspy more quiet voice. Bill color sexing sometimes works. Drakes will have a paler/more green bill and hens will have darker bills.