Do you keep yours locked up until egg laying is done?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ll, Nov 21, 2011.

1. ll

ll Chillin' With My Peeps

My girl started laying last week.
    I usually let them out in the mornings but she's been laying around noon & later.
    I don't want her to learn to lay in the yard ...
    do you keep yours in the coop until they're done laying?
    At least until they learn where to lay?
    Or does it not matter?

2. nanaimochick

nanaimochick Out Of The Brooder

Nov 17, 2011
    nanaimo, b.c.
    I only have one of my 5 young chickens laying and so far (7 days) she has always gone back to the nesting box to lay, even if they are out. I still check around the yard and pen though just in case some of others are laying and I don't know it yet! I'm pretty new at this though, so I'm sure you'll get some much better advice from the others here.

3. kuntrygirl

kuntrygirl Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Feb 20, 2008
    Opelousas, Louisiana
    No. I open the coops in the morning. They have their morning ritual (eating, drinking, playing around). Then they go to the chicken house and open shop. They begin their laying. When they are done, they leave the chicken house and begin their day.

4. Katydid2011

Katydid2011 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 22, 2011
    West Coast USA
    I generally don't allow new layers to free-range for several days of laying until they've firmly established that nests are the place for eggs. Once they get started laying around the yard it's hard to get them back in the nest again!

5. Marcymom3

Marcymom3 Chillin' With My Peeps