Do you rotate chickens?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by black_jade18, Apr 1, 2009.

1. black_jade18

black_jade18 New Egg

Mar 30, 2009
    I am a student that was asked to design a chicken coop and to explain all of the expenses. I am wondering what do you do with the chickens after they stop laying eggs like they used to? Do you sale them or just let them grow old? I have been looking different places and it seems that laying chickens do not make for good meat birds. I have some classmates that assume that you would sale the chickens for meat. Is that true? Thank you for your time. [​IMG]

2. melissastraka

melissastraka Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2009
    Hoquiam, WA
    Some people replace chickens every year but in saying that, some people let their hens who are not as productive layers, due to age, live out the remainder of their lives as pets. There are some that do cull their chickens after egg production slows to a couple eggs a month to a year. It is all personal ideals and how attached to the animal you are like anything else.

3. Kim_NC

Kim_NC Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2009
    Mt Airy, NC
    You couldn't sell them for much as "meat chickens". They have to be slow cooked because of their age - otherwise the meat is tough. Most people either let them live out a 'pet's life' or cull them (butcher & eat, or sell for less than $4-5).

We cull ours (butcher & eat) before their 3rd year - but ours are not pets. They will lay best up to 2-3 yrs, after that the production drops off. The only stock we keep into the 3rd yr are 1) good breeders - roo or very best layers, 2) good broody/mother.

Here's an example using one of our flocks...