Dog attack now possible crop issues

STP12986

In the Brooder
5 Years
May 2, 2014
Hi, yesterday my dog attacked my hens, killed one, and injured another. When i got home from work yesterday, the injured chicken was up, eating and acting normal. I cleaned her up a bit and put povidone iodine on her. Her crop did not empy last night, and still looked full when I got home today. She is drinking, and ate scrambled egg this morning, but not much of her feed if any. The crop looks completely exposed, I'm new to chickens and am unsure what I should be looking for at this point. The crop feels kinda like a firm bean bag, I know she was eating her feed all the way until dark last night. There is a smell, but I don't know if it's from her crop, or wounds. Can you help me figure out what to do? Thanks

She looks like she needs bandaging after some antibiotic ointment application. Keep her inside and warm. That is my suggestion. Good luck. I will never understand how anyone can have no issue with dogs as pets but plenty of issue with having chickens as pets. Case in point right here.

Ok, I will clean her up a bit more and put the ointment and bandaging on. Thank you. What do you think about the crop? She is in a plastic tote in my garage, I will put a heater out there because it will still be very cold in there tonight.