dog kennel/paddock system

pixie77

Hatching
6 Years
Mar 11, 2013
Hi, I have been lurking for some time now, but decided it was time to join :) As a newbie, I'm obsessed with reading about coops and systems. We are getting 5 hens. I have a 10 x 10 dog kennel I would like to use, but also really like the paddock system idea. I thought about using the door panel of the kennel to split the run into two side, and building the coop to take the place of the 4th wall. I thought I could move the hens to the other side of the kennel after about a month, then move the entire kennel to a new spot for months 3 & 4 allowing the first two areas to recover. Mathematically speaking, there would be enough room on each side of the split kennel for 5 hens. My husband thinks it would be better to just put the coop inside the kennel allowing the hens full use of the kennel the entire time. Although I see his point, I hate to use free roam space for the coop, nor do we have the space to move the entire kennel every month.

What are your thoughts?

however you decide to do it, i suggest giving the birds as much space as you can manage. i haven't contained mine (5 birds) - they roam
1 1/2 acre - they roam that much territory 2 - 3 times a day (just to express how they like to roam). i'm glad you're joining the discussions. sure wish you alot of good chicken times.

Haha. I had to reply because you sound just like me. lol