Doing my research

EveG

Hatching
7 Years
Dec 25, 2012
Hello,
I'm new here and I'm just beginning to think about keeping ducks, mostly for meat but also eggs. I'm especially interested in Anconas, Silver Appleyards and Muscovies.
My "farm" is the 1/2 acre behind a rental unit I own. I plan to be onsite for hours each day but not very early in the morning. I'm considering keeping a mated pair of each of the above breeds. I am planning their enclosure to be 3 doghouse-style houses (though I could make the one for the Muscovies be up high) open inside a much larger hardware-cloth-and framing structure that includes a pond (pond roughly 12' diameter). The whole structure would be roughly 8' tall, 25' wide and 15' deep if that makes sense.
Do you think such a setup would be suitable? Would the ducks be quacking in the mornings and bother my tenants and neighbors? I plan to let them out to forage in my garden for slugs every day. Would the 3 males learn to get along? Would those different breeds fight with each other? Any other ideas?
Thanks for considering
Eve

Hello,
I'm new here and I'm just beginning to think about keeping ducks, mostly for meat but also eggs. I'm especially interested in Anconas, Silver Appleyards and Muscovies.
My "farm" is the 1/2 acre behind a rental unit I own. I plan to be onsite for hours each day but not very early in the morning. I'm considering keeping a mated pair of each of the above breeds. I am planning their enclosure to be 3 doghouse-style houses (though I could make the one for the Muscovies be up high) open inside a much larger hardware-cloth-and framing structure that includes a pond (pond roughly 12' diameter). The whole structure would be roughly 8' tall, 25' wide and 15' deep if that makes sense.