Dominant existing flock and new hens

Ceri

In the Brooder
Mar 29, 2017
Hi,

I have been keeping hens for about 6-8 years now and am currently have a bit of an issue with my existing hens.

Currently I have a very large columbine, a dominant fenning cou cou and a ranger. All are full size and are the last of my last flock, I recenly went to buy 3 new hens to add to my flock, a columbine, another Cou Cou and a Bluebell at 19-21 weeks old.

Please see attached photo of my house, run and external run. to get a better idea of my situation

They have a coop which is roughly 1.5m x 1.5m with multiple perches and egg boxes, the ladder leads down to a covered internal run of around 3m x 1m with a concrete base. This has a large round hanging feeder and water bowl in and a straw base replaced weekly.
When the ground is not wet the have an external run, the main length is pictured in red, this is approx 4m by 1m plus the additional bit by the internal run door, this run has as you can maybe see long zig zagging perches and also a 1x1m corrugated PVC end that allows that portion ot stay dry for year round sand baths even in winter. The chickens are also regularly allowed into the main garden for grass and free roam under supervision.