DUCK advice needed Please.

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by RaynBO, Aug 5, 2013.

1. RaynBO

RaynBO New Egg

Mar 1, 2013
    California
    We got 3 ducks for (Easter 2013 they were about 1 week old ). now they are 20 weeks old. I don't remember what breed the owner said they were and I never knew the sex of them.
    this week their tiny tail feathers started to curl up. its really cute.

The 1st week of June (2013) we got 2 others we were told that the large was a male and the small was a female but we don't know their ages or breeds. they are different than the other ones we got around Easter time.

so in both cases we now have 5 ducks we don't know if they are male or female. or what their breeds are . Can you please help me tell the differences. and when should I start watching for eggs. and such.

http://cdn.backyardchickens.com/0/03/240x240px-LM-0328be60_1375672250776.jpeg

here is where you can see the Pics of all the ducks. I am still learning how to post .
    T[​IMG]

hank You
    Kim

2. Kevin565

Kevin565 Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Dec 22, 2009
    If all of the tails are curled on the original ducks then it sounds like you might have 4 males and 1 female.

3. duckcrazy

duckcrazy Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2012
    Also you can often tell a male by his quack. Males have a softer raspy quack, while females tend to quack loudly and chatter a lot. Of course this is not 100% but most of the time it is a good marker before the male's curl feather comes in. If they are molting, the male's curled tail feather will be gone until a new one grows in.

1 person likes this.
  4. RaynBO

RaynBO New Egg

Mar 1, 2013
    California
    what breeds are they? here are some more pictures I took. hope these are more clear. If they are all male then will they start fighting each other? should I get female mates for them? monogamous?
    I think you can lookup my profile and see more images of the different animals.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]