Duck Breed Focus Project

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sumi, Oct 3, 2015.

  1. sumi

    sumi Égalité Staff Member

    36,238
    8,059
    666
    Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Hi everyone, we have decided to feature and spotlight some of the amazing duck breeds our members are keeping and working with. From now on every week on Saturday, we are going to start a new feature thread on a different breed, which will be our "breed focus of the week".

    If anyone would like to contribute in any way to this project, have suggestions, or feedback, please send me a PM.

    For quick reference, links to new breed focus threads will be added to this thread as and when we start them.


    Indian Runner: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1024525/duck-breed-focus-indian-runner/0_30

    Welsh Harlequin: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1034216/duck-breed-focus-welsh-harlequin/0_30

    Silver Appleyard: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1035842/duck-breed-focus-silver-appleyard/0_30

    Cayuga: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1037130/duck-breed-focus-cayuga/0_30

    Magpie: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1045152/duck-breed-focus-magpie/0_30

    Call Duck: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1050262/duck-breed-focus-call-ducks/0_30

    Abacot Ranger: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1051919/duck-breed-focus-abacot-ranger/0_30

    Rouen: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1053103/duck-breed-focus-rouen/0_30

    Ancona: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1058679/duck-breed-focus-ancona/0_30

    Buff Orpington: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1065282/duck-breed-focus-buff-orpington/0_30

    Pekin: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1069278/duck-breed-focus-pekin/0_30

    Muscovy: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1070028/duck-breed-focus-muscovy/0_30

    Black East Indie: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1071131/duck-breed-focus-black-east-indie/0_30

    Saxony: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1072385/duck-breed-focus-saxony/0_30#post_16359775

    Mallard: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1073858/duck-breed-focus-mallard/0_30

    Crested: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1075293/duck-breed-focus-crested-ducks/0_30

    Hook Bill: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1076814/duck-breed-focus-hook-bill/0_30

    Aylesbury: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1080194/duck-breed-focus-aylesbury/0_30

    Australian Spotted: https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/1081322/duck-breed-focus-australian-spotted-duck/0_30
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2016
    3 people like this.
  2. N F C

    N F C gobble gobble Premium Member Project Manager

    37,522
    19,217
    726
    Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    Great idea sumi! This will give me the perfect opportunity to learn more about ducks (and see some great pictures of them).

    Thank you!
     
  3. Miss Lydia

    Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

    70,312
    6,162
    721
    Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    [​IMG]
    I like this idea, it will give those thinking about getting ducks next spring plenty of time to read up on the breeds they like and Indian Runners are a very popular breed. It will give us duck enthusiast a place to send them to also.
     
  4. Nifty-Chicken

    Nifty-Chicken Administrator Staff Member

    Woooohooo!!!

    Great job @sumi !!
     
  5. Amiga

    Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

    23,025
    2,029
    491
    Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Agreed (c:
     

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by