Duck egg help! Pipped egg

Michellel35

In the Brooder
Jun 20, 2023
I am new to the chicken/duck farming. I have a neighbor that their duck laid eggs on my property and was sitting on them I did not notice they were there until I was cleaning up around the tree one day and from then they were there for days. So I’m not sure at what point the eggs were laid or how long they were there before I found them .about a week later, the neighbor comes on my property and takes their duck which is fine. I wasn’t trying to keep their duck. I have five of my own. They, however, did not take the eggs and never came back for them so I candled them and saw that three were fertilized and already processed. There were embryos heartbeats everything so I went and bought an incubator and put those three in the incubator. I was not sure how far along these eggs were and went to candle them today and found one is pit, and I am mediately put it back in the incubator cause I know once it’s pipped i know you don’t open the incubator, but I had already pulled it out. It was out maybe four or five seconds not long at all will the baby be fine?

Last edited:
A few moments outside the incubator shouldn't be long enough to do any real harm, especially if you're using a forced air incubator (because the humidity and temps usually return to normal quickly). Is the humidity at around 70% in the incubator? If it's lower, I would try to raise it since it sounds like at least one egg should be hatching soon.

Best of luck!

A few moments outside the incubator shouldn't be long enough to do any real harm, especially if you're using a forced air incubator (because the humidity and temps usually return to normal quickly). Is the humidity at around 70% in the incubator? If it's lower, I would try to raise it since it sounds like at least one egg should be hatching soon.

Best of luck!