Duck eggs late hatching?

Newbie_Hatcher

In the Brooder
9 Years
Nov 10, 2010
Hi all, I'm new to the backyardchickens website, though I have heard great things about it, so I decided to join
smile.png

So my problem is: I was originally incubating 6 aylesbury duck eggs in my homemade incubator, but since starting I have found 2 to be dead at early stages (blood ring) and 1 to be infertile. It will be day 30 this evening for the remaining 3 and they still have not hatched. They have been in lockdown for almost 5 days now. I candled them last night to make sure I haven't got quitters, and it was hard to see movement in 2 of them (though one still had distinct blood veins) and 1 was moving about a fair bit, but none had entered the air cells. The temperature is on 97.5-98 and the humidity is being kept high, though my hygrometer broke a while back so I have been measuring it through watching the air cell development, which seems pretty spot on. I have also been occasionally lightly spraying the eggs for extra humidity. I haven't seen the eggs physically move and through candling it was hard to tell what position any of the babies were in. This is all new to me, and is proving a lot more difficult than when I hatched chicken eggs (near 100% hatch
big_smile.png
)

So my questions are whether it is normal for them to not have broken into the air cell yet? Do you think they still have a chance to hatch? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot
smile.png

They should have at least broken through the inner membrane into the airsac by now. The temp you mentioned- is that what you have had it on all the way along- or just since lockdown?

That's been the temperature since lockdown. Before lockdown it was at 99.5-100. They've been developing great until now, I've heard ducks can be late hatchers, but this is really starting to worry me
sad.png