Duck Eggs

ClickerChick

Songster
9 Years
Apr 13, 2012
SE Washington State
I know this website is about chickens, but I was wondering if there is much of a difference between chicken eggs and duck eggs when hatching. During the last few months, I have tried to hatch 5 duck eggs (3 the first time, 2 the second), but none have hatched. I have been candling them, so it seems that they get a week or two into incubation, and then they die. Nothing changes in the incubator, but they just die!

The temp is usually about 100 F, and I have no Idea what the humidity is because I have no way to tell. I do have water in there, though.

I have hatched probably about 100 chicks and maybe about 4 keets in the incubator, but never ducks. I really want to hatch some ducklings!

Can anyone tell me what I may be doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited:
I'm not a expert hatcher but there are plenty of great hatchers in the duck section

I don't know? I am on my first time hatching ducks too. I have Muscovies hatching out right now. I did them at around 100 degrees hand turning them 3 times daily. I also misted them every other turn with a water bottle. I read that ducks like higher humidity and that is like the momma duck taking a swim then sitting on them. You can get a humidity monitor at Petsmart or Petco in the reptile section for under $5. I kept my humidity around 45-50% the first 30 days and upped it to 65% during lockdown.

I'm not sure what could be wrong since you have hatched so many chicks out? Where are you getting your eggs? Maybe there is a problem with the eggs themselves... although that is strange that they are making it two weeks before dying?
hu.gif

I use a modified dry hatch method on my call ducks. The humidity is 30% for 21 days then I up it to 60% and decrease the temp 1/2 degree until day 28 when I up the humidity again to 65%. I hatch in a RCOM so I know the exact temp and humidity.