Duck hatching help asap!

Islandmom511

Songster
11 Years
Jul 8, 2011
So it's been 36 hours since the first pip and they have made some progress, but not a ton. There's 3-4 pips in a row, but they still have a long way to go. I emailed the farm I got the eggs from for advice and they said I need the help the ducks out ASAP! he seemed very urgent about it...and he says I should do it under water? Does anyone have any videos for me to watch or advice or anything, as this is my first hatch and i am very nervous to intervene
hmm.png

I did just hatch 4 of my own but I'm not an expert so I can't really give advice on that, however underwater sounds strange so I wouldn't do that without getting some more opinions from members here. Once the duckling has pipped it is breathing air and if you submerged it it may not be able to breathe!

Quote:
I thought so too....hoping someone responds soon... I'm biting my nails over here!

Oh I forgot to mention, 1 is doing great and has a small hole where I can see inside. The membrane is very dry and white. Is it supposed to be like that?

Holding an egg under water now would drown the duckling. I have heard of people putting water into the egg and even holding it under a running tap - I was told it can help them to move- but I havent ever done anything like that myself. If the membrane looks white it is dry- Have you got a misting water bottle at all?? Spraying the eggs will help.

When I help a duckling- I put a small hole into the aircell to allow them to breath. Then just keep spraying to keep the membrane moist. I dont ever peel back the membrane while wet as you can easily tear through a vein which can cause it to bleed. If they have pipped- they can breath- so keeping the membrane moist now is something you can do to help them.