Duckling is scratching area between eye and bill causing feather loss. Please advise!!

RhodysMom

In the Brooder
7 Years
Apr 25, 2012
I'm totally new to this and have 3 almost 3 wk old ducklings. They seem to be doing great, eating well, very friendly, good energy, but I just noticed that one seems to have a bald patch below her right eye. It's like her bill now extends all the way to the eye, no little feathery bit between the the bill and eye anymore. Sorry for my less than awesome descriptions - it's late and I'm totally new to ducks.

Other than that, she seems great, like I said above. I have noticed that sometimes it sounds like she's got a stuffy nose but it's intermittent and I have been looking and have never seen any nasal discharge so I don't know if maybe those sounds are just duck sounds or if something is wrong. I'm a little worried, though. Can anyone tell me what's going on with my duckling?

Last edited:
At three weeks old they are starting to produce more downy feathers that then give way to the growth of the real feathers. Some ducklings do end up with some bald areas as their bodies grow but the fluff doesnt start to grow fast enough. Apart from checking to make sure of no parasites- ( yes even babies can get them when raised by the mothers. not likely when brooder raised but still worth checking ) .

Maybe if you could post a photo of duckie people may be able to give you an idea of something else is going on causing the bald patch.

Thanks for the reply. It's not a very obvious spot so it may be difficult to take a photo. I'll see what I can do. It's not raw or anything - just an area where there seems to be an absence of feathers where her sisters have feathers. Now that I've thought about it, I did see her scratching the area with her foot yesterday. Is it possible that this is what happened?