Duckling sneezing and panting - help please!

lizzyGSR

Songster
9 Years
Mar 24, 2012
Kansas
I have 2 pekin ducklings that will be two weeks old on 3/26/12. I have had them one week today. I noticed earlier today that one of them was sneezing. I noticed a few minutes ago that that same one was also breathing hard or panting, similar to how it might if it were hot. However, they were both near the light but not directly underneath it, so I don't think that's the case. What should I do?

Edit: I should also mention that I don't see any drainage from either of the duck's "nostrils."

Last edited:
I am an extreme newbie here, but the panting sounds like the duckling is too hot. If he is panting and moving away from the heated area, your lamp is heating too high. You either need to move your lamp upward (farther from the floor) or get a smaller watt light. Are they in a brooder that is draftproof, with a heated area AND non-heated area? Are you keeping a consistent temperature throughout day and night? What is your temperature on the brooder floor in the heated area? What watt light are you using?

When they are still young, fluctuating temperatures (from hot to cold) can be detrimental to ducklings.

Hope others can help with the sneezing. I do not know enough about that to comment. Good luck!!!!

I am currently using a 100W light bulb in the brooder reflector. The ducklings are in a box and are in a corner of the kitchen. They can move out of the heat from the lamp if they so please. AT last check, the light was keeping them at around 90 and is as constant from day to night as I can get it.

I am beating myself up over this now, but I did open two windows in the house yesterday. It was really nice outside (80*F) and there was only the faintest of breezes yesterday so I thought it'd be ok. The windows were NOT in the room the ducks are in, though, and there was no noticeable breeze through there. I feel terrible now.