egg questions (im new to this)

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by nifftiness, Sep 21, 2010.

1. nifftiness

nifftiness Out Of The Brooder

I just made a incubator after seeing someone elses on here. Its just a ten gallon aquarium with fan, dish of water, and humidity/ thermostat. I have a few questions about my chicken eggs

1 when I go to collect my eggs its hard to grab em when their warm. I check tons during the day but their usualy a little cooled off by the time I get them. Do they have to still be warm to incubate them? Im assuming so but thought id ask.

2 I tried using a flashlight and a candle and i dont see anything, my eggs dont go see through when im looking at them, lol. How do you do that, Any advice on candling would be great cause i seem to be challenged, :O)

3 I know this question opens a can of worms, but can people post their humidity at what stages without a huge expenation. I just want to look at what the majority of people are doing and go with the most common. I read past posts and it gets confusing with so many different views. I read someone kept it at 75 through the whole proccess but i think those were a different type of egg. Seemes easy to keep it at one tempature. Whats your temps?

2. PunkinPeep

PunkinPeep Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 31, 2009
    SouthEast Texas
    Quote:1. I usually collect my eggs and then put them in the incubator all at once, so i don't have a staggered hatch. In fact, many folks actually cool their eggs while they're waiting to incubate.

2. To candle, you need to be in a dark room, or i do. I use a plastic planter, with a hole in the bottom and turn it upside down over a lamp. I stick the whole thing in a linen closet where it's dark and then put the egg over the hole in the bottom of the pot. This article has a similar idea, so you can get an idea. 9611804837105417647568