Ever add eggs after incubation been started? Need advice please!

minpinmama

Chirping
9 Years
Dec 24, 2010
I have a predicament and need advice. I have two incubators, one with 40 eggs in it on day 8
and room for 9 more eggs, this was started a week ago. The other is on with a single chicken egg
at 22 days.
I received 19 more eggs today and need to have them in the incubator in the morning and need to do it
without buying a 3rd incubator. What would you do?
1) Add to the already started clutch or
2)wait one more day and on day 23 forget the single egg and start all over again with the new 19 eggs?

I've put the lone egg to my ear and hear no pipping at all. Candled it and it appears solid, however it is only one of 17 that made it this far.

Hmmm what to do
barnie.gif
what to do ? ! ? ! ?

Last edited:
Just my opinion, but I would NOT add it to the bator that has the 40 eggs. I am new to this, only on my 2nd hatch, but adding to an already started hatch was a huge problem for me in the way that...once you get to lockdown for the first eggs (40), you can't open the incubator to turn the last eggs (added 9). Plus, your humidity needs to be much higher in lockdown than what the added 9 will need. By the time your first eggs have hatched and the babies are dry and ready to come out, and maybe need to eat, you can't open the bator because the second half (added 9) of the eggs are on lockdown. This is called a scattered hatch and can be maddening. I learned from experience. I would go ahead and add it to the lone egg, very quickly, and still give that single egg another day or 2, but no more without sure signs of life. Just my opinion...good luck.

I have a predicament and need advice. I have two incubators, one with 40 eggs in it on day 8
and room for 9 more eggs, this was started a week ago. The other is on with a single chicken egg
at 22 days.
I received 19 more eggs today and need to have them in the incubator in the morning and need to do it