Farm Innovator 2150 humidity issues

BuckeyeFoodie

Crowing
10 Years
Mar 29, 2013
Columbus, OH
So I am pretty new to incubating, and since I wanted dummy-proof I bought a nurture right 360. I love it! My first two hatches were great.

However, this time around I have eggs due to hatch at different times, and because I'm not financially able to get a second NR360 at the moment, I purchased a Farm Innovator's 2150 still-air model to use purely for lockdown and hatching.

I CAN NOT get the humidity above 60%. I have taped shut all the little holes in the bottom of the bator so I could fill it with water (it has a solid inch of water filling the entire bottom), eventually taped the ventilation holes in the lid as well, and even tried taping the seam between lid and bottom just to see what would happen. I think that got me to 62%....

Egg #1 was a few days ahead of #s 2 and 3, and I had to assist the hatch last night after waiting 13 hours for the chick to unzip more than the new pips it managed before the membrane started to dry. Chick is ok, but I really don't want to go through this with every egg this clutch (13 more total, and I have a second clutch that is 14 days behind, so I cant just leave them in the NR360).

I just put a seed-starting heat mat under the bator to see if that helps give it a boost, and I'm getting a space heater for the laundry room where I'm set up (it costs a fortune to heat our house, so we keep the thermostat at around 60) but does anyone have any other ideas?

The gauge, and what happened with the first chick - I dont have a secondary hygrometer yet, it arrives tomorrow.
I have the farm innovator 4250 and my humidity is 10% lower than what my calibrated hygrometer says.

I wouldn't trust the gauge on the incubator. I wouldn't cover all the holes on the top because you risk suffocating the chicks because there is no air exchange happening.