Feed running out... Ordered more but....

Splinty

Chirping
8 Years
Jun 14, 2011
New York
Hi!! I need help with this question. I'm new to chicks and they are 3 weeks old. When I bought them from Chickensforbackyards.com they recommended Manna Pro Medicated Chick Starter (5lbs) so I got it for my babies. They told me that the bag would last 5 weeks. Well as you know they are 3 weeks old and I'm almost out of food. I ordered more from Amazon and it shipped on 6/30. They are telling me that it will be delivered between 7/7 & 7/12. I only have enough food left for maybe 2 days. The feed stores near me don't sell it and the only reason I was keeping them on the medicated food is because the bag says to feed it to them till they are 8 weeks old. My feed store only sells non-medicated in 50# bags. I only have 3 chicks and the lady at the store told me to put them on grower food at 6 weeks. I don't know if I should go get the grower food, feed them that till the medicated comes in and if I do that will it upset their stomachs? I'm also not sure if I should start mixing the 2 foods together to ween them off the started onto the grower like I did with my dogs and cats. Can someone please help me? I don't want to harm my chicks in any way.

Last edited:
Truthfully, I don't think the chicks will ever notice the difference, and it won't hurt them to switch to non-medicated feed. I run out from time to time, and have been known to grind up gamebird feed to feed to the chicks until I can get to town, and have never had any problems.

They will eat anything, even styrofome coolers
big_smile.png
I don't think changing there diet will hurt them one bit, its in their nature to be scavengers, they will adjust to anything you feed them, or they feel like eaing.