Female dominance issues or possible males??

Nikki82

In the Brooder
8 Years
Oct 1, 2011
I'm completely brand new to owning chickens, but have wanted to try it. I have four that are about 13 weeks old (bought when they were ten weeks). They were bought on the pretence that they were all female, but I'm begining to wonder about a couple of them. The two in question tend to have more of a strut to their walk; head and tail held high. I have also seen these two fighting with eachother on a couple of occasons ( no injuries fortunately). And the comb on one of the two in question is darkening faster than the rest of them. One male won't be so bad, but two will be a problem.

My chickens are leghorn/australorp crosses, if it makes a difference.

Pictures may help... while you can't post them until you have at least 10 posts on the forum, you can create a Photobucket acct and post a link to them.

I got some pictures, but can't seem to find the cord that connects my camera to the computer. I think I left it at a friends place by mistake. I'll post the pictures as soon as I can.

Young pullets will fight the males up to that age. Sounds like you have one male for sure. The other, well, like they said, pics please lol. From the side if possible and a clear shot of the head. We're looking at the feathering, stance, and size and coloring of the comb and the area around the eyes.

ETA: 10 posts will do it. Even replies to this thread count
wink.png

Last edited: