Fertile eggs not developing

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Kadjain, Jan 2, 2013.

1. Kadjain

Kadjain Chillin' With My Peeps

I have been filling my incubator with eggs from young pullets who just started laying. All these pullets were in breeding pens with a rooster. None of their eggs have development after 7 days. I always check the eggs at three days and even though I didn't see any veins I left them in. I just cracked them open to check for fertilization and all of them were definitely fertile.
    Why would they not be developing? Because they are the pullets first eggs??

2. Chick_In_The_Burbs

Chick_In_The_Burbs Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2010
    Western Washington
    Pullet eggs should develop. I am not an expert but I have read that a few times.

Maybe it's he temp? If the incubators thermostat is off you might not be in the right temp zone. Take a different thermometer and check it with a glass of ice water. If it shows 32 degrees then you know it's dead on, if it is higher or lower you know to add or subtract that much for accuracy. Then put it in the bator on top of the eggs and see what you get.

I can't think of anything else, other than maybe your roo has a fertility problem. :/

Good luck. Hope it's just the bator, that's an easy fix.

3. groundpecker

groundpecker Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2011
    Rison, Arkansas
    Pullet eggs will hatch. Matter of fact, i just had 11 of 12 SPR eggs to hatch yesterday. Either your temp is not correct, the eggs are not fertile, a medication or infection killed the embryo, human error...such as constant tampering is probably the problem.

Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  4. Kadjain