First attempt

Clover8Flora

In the Brooder
5 Years
Apr 27, 2014
Hampshire UK
Hi everyone :)
I'm new to this so looking for some more info.
I have two Peking bantams, Flora & Clover.
Both my gorgeous girls are broody and I've decided to try and get them to hatch some eggs.
Are they both ok to stay in the same coop? They seem to favour the same bed although I think clover is the more broody one.

Any advice and I'd be very grateful for as I've never done this before.
All chicks will be staying here, cockerels already spoken for if we get any but anything else I should plan for?

Best feed to give her? Any extras she needs?

Many thanks

red horse ranch

Crowing
6 Years
Jan 24, 2014
Buffalo Wyoming
Hi everyone

I'm new to this so looking for some more info.
I have two Peking bantams, Flora & Clover.
Both my gorgeous girls are broody and I've decided to try and get them to hatch some eggs.
Are they both ok to stay in the same coop? They seem to favour the same bed although I think clover is the more broody one.

Any advice and I'd be very grateful for as I've never done this before.
All chicks will be staying here, cockerels already spoken for if we get any but anything else I should plan for?

Best feed to give her? Any extras she needs?

Many thanks
Some people have had success with two broodys on one nest but I think it is best if they have separate nests. Less chance of eggs being broke or damaged. The same coop would be okay for incubating but they may need separate areas after the hatch.
A bantam hen will have a hard time keeping more than 7 or 8 eggs warm so don't overload them. If the eggs are from full size chickens 6 or 7 would be enough. Mark the eggs so you can tell which ones are being brooded in case another hen lays an egg in the same nest. Do you have a rooster to be sure the eggs are fertile?