First Chicken-eating-mouse experience . . .

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by glassparman, Jan 20, 2009.

1. glassparman

glassparman Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2008
    Mojave, CA
    I've heard of it and I have always had lots of mice around the coops but never saw my girls go for them. I've been doing this hen thing for about 2 years.

Then, last night I went to put my girls away (bobcat proofing) and a hen had a mouse in her mouth. She was not sure what to do with it but it was pecked to death fairly well.

Has anyone had a bad experience with hens eating mice?

Michael

2. CovenantCreek

CovenantCreek Chicks Rule!

Oct 19, 2007
    Franklin, TN
    I haven't had any bad experiences -- unless you count the fact that the mice freely scurry about the coop without fear. [​IMG]

The first time one of mine caught a mouse it had been hiding under a water trough when I turned the trough over to dump the dirty water. I think I still had 5 or 6 pullets at the time, all of them waiting for the crickets usually caught under there. When they saw a mouse within reach they went nuts. It was hysterical watching the victor trying to get away from the others with her prize.

3. Bear Foot Farm

Bear Foot Farm Overrun With Chickens

Mar 31, 2008
    Grifton NC
    I have lots of mice in the barn and whenever I trap one, I give it to the chickens. They will fight over it, and chase each other around trying to steal it.
    The lucky winner will peck at it and slam it around for a while, and then swallow it head first.

4. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    I once had to get a dying rat away from my chickens because it was one that had eaten poison out of our bait tubes. They were fighting furiously over it.

5. MandyH

MandyH You'll shoot your eye out!