First eggs from my duck

WaddleWagon

In the Brooder
Jul 11, 2016
So I am very new to this whole world so please bare with me, She just started laying as of yesterday, we got another one today.
How often will she actually lay eggs about, is there anything I need to give her, I read about oyster shell.
Is that okay to give her and if the drake eats it will he be okay as well?
Just want to make sure if theres something else I need to do for her care I am, keep her happy & healthy.
Thanks

So I am very new to this whole world so please bare with me, She just started laying as of yesterday, we got another one today.
How often will she actually lay eggs about, is there anything I need to give her, I read about oyster shell.
Is that okay to give her and if the drake eats it will he be okay as well?
Just want to make sure if theres something else I need to do for her care I am, keep her happy & healthy.
Thanks

Congratulations! I hope you like eating duck eggs as much as I do...they're delicious.
yippiechickie.gif

Assuming she's not eating a layer ration already, free choice oyster shell would be good. Drakes aren't really supposed to eat it because too much calcium can be bad for the health of non-layers, but my drakes will scarf it down if they can get to it, so I would just recommend that you try to limit the drake's consumption of it, if you see him eating it. I won't try tasting it, myself, but I wonder if it's salty and that's why the boys like to eat it.

Balanced nutrition is also important - what do you feed her? Also, what breed is she?

Shes on that Purina Flock Raiser Crumbles, should I change their diet up now? That is a good point I forgot to ask. They are Pekin ducks and 6mos old. What would you suggest for their food