first time chicken farming

jnicholes

Free Ranging
7 Years
Feb 16, 2017
Dietrich, Idaho
Hi Everyone.

I am completely new to chicken farming, and I want to try raising chickens from chicks. I am just doing some research on what I need to raise chickens from chicks. I am moving to a house that has a chicken coop in the backyard with a fenced area.

I have many questions about how to raise chicks:

What temperature does the coop need to be for the chicks?

What do I need on the floor of the coop for bedding?

Do I need a light for the chicks?

How much food and fresh water do they need each day?

How often do I clean the coop?

Anything else I I might need that I forgot to mention?

So sorry for asking a lot of questions, but I am completely new to chicken farming.

Any help will be greatly appreciated

Jared

Hi Jared! Welcome to the adventure of raising chickens!

To help answer your questions, do you mind answering a few? How many chicks are you planning to get? What is your coop/setup like? Where are you located? And do you know what breeds you want?

It's quite different giving advice to someone with 3 chicks in Arizona or somebody with 25 chicks in Maine! (Assuming you're in the US).

If you could post pics of your coop, that would be a great idea too. One of the biggest concerns you'll face is predators, and people here on the site are very good at advising you in how to make a secure coop.

Hi Everyone!