First time Chicken owner

jillmburke

In the Brooder
8 Years
Feb 21, 2011
Hi, I am new to raising chickens. A friend of mine has rescued a rooster, and I have agreed to keep him on my horse ranch. In the spring, I plan to buy some chickens for eggs and meat as a small hobby. For now, what do I need in order to keep the rooster happy and healthy?

First off, you'll need a coop for him, good food, treats, and of course some ladies. Chickens are social animals and do much better in groups rather than alone. If you only have the roo, you need to get some ladies sooner, rather than later.

Glad you were willing to take in the rescued roo. Does my heart good to hear stories of all the good people out there who rescue chooks that have not had the easiest life. My hat goes off to you!

Well, I mean as far as shelter. I will be buying some hens ASAP, but need a place just for the little man for right now. I have an old storage shed I can clean out... About 8x8. I'm thinking I could cut a hole in the back to create a run. What about ventilation? Will the opening in the back be enough for now? It's pretty cold around here in winter, will he need a heat source? The floor is wooden, is this, along with wood shavings, ok? And anything else I'm not thinking of!
smile.png