Flock block

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by 7L Farm, Nov 3, 2010.

1. 7L Farm

7L Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2010
    Anderson, Texas
    I bought one & put it out the other day & it got rained on last night. Should I leave it or pitch it. I hate to waste it & was thinking they will eat through the wet stuff .

2. toby5

toby5 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 1, 2010
    TN
    I am new to chickens... May I ask what is a flock block?

3. 7L Farm

Jul 22, 2010
    Anderson, Texas
    Its a food supplement. 25 lb block . Purina makes them. I got mine from Tractor Supply Co. You can google for more info.

4. ChickenCat

ChickenCat Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 1, 2009
    craig county, VA
    I bought several last year during the winter. I have 40 birds snacking on it. When it's dry, it'll last about 10 days. When it gets wet it will start to fall aprt and it took mine 2 days to finish one off. I now put it under their porch to keep it dry so it'll stay hard and last longer. i don't know how many of you have a Southern States Store near you, but last week they had 12 suet cakes (for wild birds) packaged together for 59 cents per cake. Good deal! My girls love those when it gets real cold. I hang them in they wire holder in their house for treats.

5. toby5

toby5 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 1, 2010
    TN
    Its a food supplement. 25 lb block . Purina makes them. I got mine from Tractor Supply Co. You can google for more info.

Ok Thank you

6. Hollywood Chickens

Hollywood Chickens Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2009
    Florida
    I got one ONCE! first they couldn't peck at it because it was too smooth, so we wiped it with a damp cloth to soften the outside enough for them to peck, then wild bird came to feast on it and gave my chickens a non-fatal virus that stopped egg production for a month!!! and for all of that it only lasted 2 days with 12 hens because in humid FL it feel apart.

7. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens