Forest Hill's Pheasants

Jonny Anvil

Songster
9 Years
May 25, 2010
Strathcona County, Alberta
Just thought I would start a thread on my experiences with raising ring neck Pheasants

I am very new to this all, only started back in early April with Dad.

Just to bring those interested up to speed.

We got our pheasanst back in April, they were 1 year old as so the gentleman who sold them to us claimed. We got 9 in total at first, 2 hens and 7 roosters.

Three of the original 7 Roo's were not jumbos but not regular ringnecks either, kind of inbetween but definately bigger than the other 4 which are all common ringnecks.
We started with three pens, two 8x8 breeder pens and a 16x8 community pen. We put the most dominate male roo in with the two hens and with in a week we started to get eggs. The other 6 males got along great for the first 2 weeks but things changed and we used the second 8x8 pen as a seperation pen to seperate the roos as they began to start the Pecking order. Now I should mention that one of the males we got had a large growth under his left wing, not sure how he got it or if it was an injury but NONE of the other males picked on him. He never got pecked and he never was chased or picked on, kind of like the other's respected him.
Sadly he passed away, down to 6 males.

The 6 remaining males started to become aggressive towards each other, which makes sense as the time of year, so we split them up further by seperating them. 3 birds per pen, we lost another bird who had no markings or signs of being pecked at by the others, but there were coyote tracks near the cages, maybe got scared to death? Down to 5 males. Dad wanted to Cull one for a treat one night, down to 4 males + 2 hens, That are now laying an egg a day each.

I live in the city and my Parents live on an acreage.... thought I should mention that..lol

Dad calls me a few days later, says "hey we have new birds"