Four questions from me (a complete newbie).

bittersweethorsefarm

Hatching
9 Years
May 22, 2010
West Virginia
I just purchased a new horse farm this month and my farm already has a chicken coop & a small fenced area right outside of it. I have been scrolling through the Breed list for suitable egg layers (wanting also friendly, non-agressive, easily contained, and not noisy).

Delaware
Dominique
Holland
Java
Star
Sussex
Barnevelder
Brahma
Dorking
Easter Eggers
Faverolles
Russian Orloff

I started a buying search, but wasn't planning on buying anytime this month nor possibly June. But looking always leads to buying when it comes to me.
roll.png

Whichs to my questions below...
big_smile.png

Question 1: What is your experience with each (or one) of the breeds above?

Question 2: Is it easier to start with chicks that have already hatched or receive eggs that haven't hatched yet?

Question 3: I have seen foxes roaming my property (no hunting is allowed in the community) and I know the fence surrounding the chicken coop is good to keep them out, but I was eventually hoping to allow them to free range once older --- but with foxes, cats, raccoons, etc animals roaming around is that advisible to free range them or should I just later on build a larger containment area?

Question 4: Do I need a rooster or can I just have females?

Question 5 (HA! I lied): going from question 3, what do you do to keep other animals from killing your flock?