Fox attack? :(

owleyes22

In the Brooder
6 Years
Nov 27, 2013
South Australia
Hi I am new to backyard chickens and I know you guys are specifically focused on chickens but I'm sure ducks are very similar so any suggestions or help would be great thanks!
1) What type of bird , age and weight
Duck, 4 years old
2) What is the behavior, exactly.
Cautious
3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?
Since the attack
4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms? N/a
5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.
Yes. Blood around craw. No known broken bones. In shock.
6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation. Possible predator attack
The family thinks a fox did it. We leave Bubby (the duck) out at night and he sleeps in the back yard but last night he was attacked.
7) What has the bird been eating and drinking, if at all.
He eats wheat seeds like grains. Have not fed or watered him yet.
8) How does the poop look? Normal? Bloody? Runny? etc.
Pale green
9) What has been the treatment you have administered so far?
I put bubby in a box with rags in it. He is currently in the house.
10 ) What is your intent as far as medical treatment?
I just want to make sure he stops bleeding and doesn't get an infection by myself if possible.
11) If you have a picture of the wound or condition, please post it. It may help.
LL
LL

12) Describe the housing/bedding in use
Cardboard box lined with plastic bags and old rags.

Good to have him in. He will need to be in for a while, and then he needs a predator-proof shelter from here on. That fox - or whatever it was - will be back.

Give Bubby a lukewarm bath, no soap. Make the water deep enough to float in. Look him over very carefully. The water will help him feel better and help you see where the wounds are. It will wash some of the blood off.