Free ranging Polish hen...how to protect her & eggs/chicks

Dee Dub

Songster
Jul 4, 2020
Perry, FL
Greetings. I free range my chickens during the day. Many hens & one Ameracauna roo. They all normally return to their coops/runs in the evening. Except for one...one of my Polish hens has gone broody outside of the coop/run. I have both dogs & cats. Neither bother the adult chickens, but I am concerned that they would obliterate any newly hatched chicks. She is safe right now under a protective plant outside my fence, but her chicks will not be safe from my cats upon hatching. Is it safe to move both the hen & eggs to an indoor sanctuary? Will the move stress them or cause the hen to abandon her eggs? Complete newbie to this situation...please advise...with kindness.

Thank you...that is reassuring. I will move her inside with her eggs today as soon as I get a break from the rain. I appreciate your quick response :)

How did this go for you? Whenever I move a broody hen, she will try everything she can to get back to her spot, even if the eggs are no longer there.

Thanks for asking. I got her & her eggs moved into a pen in my workshop later the same day I posted. For the first 2 days, every time I checked in on her, she was on high alert & not sitting on her eggs. The 3rd day, she moved the eggs around & by the 4th day has been sitting on them regularly since. She is normally a very docile girl, but when she is not sitting on the eggs & I try to pet her, she squawks & fluffs herself up as if trying to defend her clutch. My workshop is normally very warm so I hope the first couple of days when she wasn't sitting on the eggs were not detrimental. Will hens still sit on non-viable eggs?