Freedom Rangers too small??

stanglover2001

Songster
9 Years
Apr 29, 2010
So today the freedom rangers are 11 weeks old and I weighed the biggest one we have and he came up to 4 lbs 10 oz but felt small still. Would it hurt to hold them til they turn 16 weeks? Would it help if I add the heat lamp back? It's been cold and snowing here in TN which isn't normal for Dec. My CornishX didn't even get as big as they should been. My other FR's are so much smaller than the one I weighed. What'd be the longest you'd hold chickens over that you sell to family??

20 weeks is when they start to grow the small hairs that seem to avoid the plucker, also when they become interested in breeding and to many can be a pain. If it's cold there they are burning a certain amount of calories to stay warm; the heat lamp would conserve that.

So as long as I butcher by 18-19 weeks the taste and texture will not be affected? This is my first attempt on FR's I only have 13 and they're all pretty small looking, I only sale to family and a few co-workers of the DH.

Last time I only did CornishX and they did awesome, but it was too hot outside and I lost 3 to lack of water. This go round it's too cold and they're just not gaining weight, and there is nothing to range on
he.gif

I'm having no luck...
th.gif
Guess it's outside I'm going to hook the heat lamps back up... This weekend I'm going to butcher my last 2 of 3 Cornishx they're the same age and just havn't gotten to an ideal weight yet.
barnie.gif

Strangelover,

I live about 20 miles east of Nashville and have had the same problems of you, except I started my FR around September. Mine averaged around 5lbs processed (which I got processed in Bowling Green, KY at SS Enterprises). I emailed Kendall Fox at Freedom Ranger hatcheries about grow out times and he said the following about age:

Hi Jesse,