Friendliness or aggression?

IamRainey

Crowing
Aug 22, 2017
Los Angeles (Woodland Hills); gardening zone 9B
This is my first time raising chickens. I have 3. They are 26 weeks old now but I got them when they were 6 weeks old.

I've never forced contact. ...tho I would love to have a real relationship with them and be able to handle them when necessary.

Recently I have been sitting in the coop with them when I clean it out in the mornings. They have fresh greens down in the run and I scrape off their poop board then sit down and make some chicken sounds. They invariably come up now and check me out leaving the greens behind.

They will get very close. If I try to touch them they might do that "flounder" thing if I get them in the right spot. Then I can quietly stroke their backs. Or they'll scoot away but then come right back. And they now peck at my hands and my toes. And when I say "peck" I mean they really peck! Like trying to get a bit of meat.

Also, my biggest "chicken" (as in the one that has always been most fearful) has started getting up on the top roost so she's behind my head and pecking at my ears. OUCH!

If this is familiarity and we're making progress I'll carry on but if this is aggression how do I get them to cut it out?

It's their dinosaur DNA, tasting you :lol:

Lol, I agree with everyone else, just curious most likely. My birds pretty much avoid me. Except for a couple silkies I had, they were the most annoying birds ever, always pecking my toes, and my toenails were NOT even painted Lol!

I personally wouldn't allow the pecking as it could also be dominating behavior. Also watch your eyes, many have gotten pecked in them by trying to be friendly with their birds.
Ditto Dat^^^!!!

Have had this happen several times, mostly with hand fed chicks often as they come of age and get spunky. It's pretty easily curbed with calm and deliberate determination.