Funny Chicken Stories

Hotwings

Songster
12 Years
Jan 27, 2007
southwestern Michigan
I am new to the world of our poultry friends and I know there has got to be alot of amusing stories out there about them.

I don't have alot of exposure to alot of breeds but I think bantams are very comical. I remember when my friend Denise first got her Millie Fluer chicks she kept them in the rabbit shed(she was breeding rabbits at the time) because she didn't have anywhere else to keep them. She wasn't aware that bantams fly very well. Well anyway even tho they were small at the time, they were able to fly to the top of the rubber bin she kept them in! Before long they were flying all over and driving the rabbits in their cages nuts. It was so funny, especially to see Denise trying to round up these little terrors. They were eventually confined to a birdcage till they were big enough to go to their new coop.

I would very much enjoy hearing your funny chicken stories.

Hey Hotwings, Great idea for a thread. I sure wish I could think of a funny story. I know there are alot of them. My mind just draws a blank. To much going on, I guess. I sure hope someone has some stories to share.

Ok, I suck at telling stories, but...

One day I walked into the coop to find Lucy the hen with one foot on the roost and the other foot paddling the air. So I walked over and put my hand underneath her foot, she stepped on my hand turned around and walked away. I guess she got stuck!?

well just the other day we had enough snow overnight to cover everything & my girls are not even a year old so they were very confused by the white stuff. One by one they reluctantly came down the ramp & worked their way to the patio to get under the table & out of the snow. Then I heard a hawk like sound & my crazy, afraid of her own shadow EE was flying across the yard from the door of the chicken coop to the patio so she didn't have to step in the snow!!!! she fly just like a regular bird!