1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Genetic calculator

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by osukrazykate, Dec 9, 2009.

1. osukrazykate

osukrazykate Chillin' With My Peeps

So I am thinking about building a spreadsheet calculator for genetics. I am still learning whenever I can about the genetics and different scenarios. I know there are suppose to be some calculators out there already, but I have a hard time understanding them or getting them to work. Anybody who would like to put their two sense worth is more than welcomed to. Once I get it going I will need some testers to tell me if I have it on the right track. I am thinking of making different areas for the different breeds, I know that is a lot right, but hey it sounds like a fun project to me. And I can learn as I go.

2. Henk69

Henk69 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 29, 2008
    Groesbeek Netherlands
    So do you want to make a cheat sheet or a working programm?
    I happen to know the people who made the existing chook calculators.

3. Boggy Bottom Bantams

Boggy Bottom Bantams Overrun With Chickens

Mar 9, 2008
    Hahira, GA
    That's the one I use, and I love it, pretty easy to follow.
    Select your cock and hen, go to
    the calculator,
    click
    calculate crossing
    and your done,
    then it will allow you to either cross back offspring to parents, or offspring to offspring as well

very nice!

4. osukrazykate